Lee Doherty

Admin & Co.

Website   Facebook   Instagram

Where did you grow up and where are you based now?

Grew up in Mallee, Gippsland and ending up in Geelong in Grade 5.  Office based river end of Newtown, Geelong.  Live in the 'burbs in a new estate, Warralily Coast in Mt Duneed.

What did you want to be when you ‘grew up’? 

Lawyer or Vet!  Paralysing fear of exams, maybe failing, caused me to leave school at Year 11.

When and how did you transition from working for someone else to working for yourself?

Twelve months ago after 25 years of being an employee.  It was a health issue which forced me out of work for four months and during that time I decided to go for it.

What’s your why?

Can it be as simple as pay for the school fees??? 😊

What do you love about what you do?

My ability to help people overcome overwhelm and frustration.

What’s challenged you most since being in business?

Switching off.  Also now having more stress on trying to manage family admin.  I need a wife!

What are your greatest achievements to date?

Just being able to support my family and pay bills on time!

What are some of the lessons you’ve learned along the way?

It’s ok to say no to a client.  Don’t be afraid to say your fee upfront – you are worth it.  You are only as good as what you do, not what you say you do.

What’s the toughest decision you’ve had to make since running your own business?

Just really the start, leap of faith you need.  It takes about a year to get rid of those “am I really doing this” fears.  I am probably in the middle of my biggest one now….  How big do I want this to be?

What are some resources you or your business can’t live without? 

Google apps, Canva, Last Pass, Dropbox, Asana, Hootsuite

What advice would you give someone wanting to start their own business or change jobs to an industry/role that they’d love?

Just keep up to date with workshops, webinars, research articles – what was new today, won’t be tomorrow – need to be able to adapt and accept change.

What’s something most people wouldn’t know about you?

Went to 8 schools by the time I finished high school – husband thinks we were in witness protection.

What does your ideal day look like?

Ideal or real? 😊  Ideal would be get up on time, walk dog, shower, blowdry hair, put on make up, take kids to school, arrive at work, complete daily to do list, fit in a walk or yoga around corner, pick up kids etc… Real life – alarm goes off I struggle to get up, kids always missing something, or left something in car.  Look in mirror – am I meeting a client today, is a face required?  Can hair go another day with dry shampoo and bun?  Realise clothes planning to wear still in machine as too tired last night to stay awake to hang them out.  Have only enough time to put mascara on as kids fighting in driveway about who sat in front last time.  Spend 15 minutes in car angry as once again I look like the crazy mum in the neighbourhood who can’t control kids.  Get to work after 20 minutes in traffic dropping kids off, realise no brekky. Head down and hello it’s school pick up time!

What’s one of your favourite quotes?

Slay your own dragon Princess

Who or what inspires you? 

Mia Freedman

Comment

Google+